2024 Bryan Clay Invitational

Gracie Hyde Breaks NCAA D2 Steeplechase Record, Grabs U.S. Trials Standard

Gracie Hyde Breaks NCAA D2 Steeplechase Record, Grabs U.S. Trials Standard

On a night that saw the U.S. Olympic Trials 'A' standard fall three times in the 3,000 meter steeplechase, an Adams State runner also broke a NCAA D2 record

Apr 12, 2024 by Cory Mull

Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Sign Up

Already a subscriber? Log In

Gracie Hyde set herself up for history. 

The Adams State graduate student from Benton, Arkansas stuck with the leaders on Thursday in the 3,000 meter steeplechase at the Bryan Clay Invitational and then hung with Lexy Halladay-Lowry when the race stretched out, ultimately accomplishing NCAA Division 2 history.

Hyde claimed a new NCAA Division 2 record on the night, clocking a time of 9:28.17 to Halladay-Lowry's winning time of 9:26.55. 

That performance also gave Hyde a new school record, as she surpassed the former D2 record-holder Eilish Flanagan, who ran 9:40.68 in 2021. Better yet, Hyde also earned a new U.S. Olympic Trials 'A' standard, along with two other Americans. 

In total, three Americans dipped under the 9:41 Olympic Trials standard, including Halladay-Lowry, a standout BYU athlete who competed unattached on Thursday. 

Florida's Elise Thorner, a native of Great Britain, was third in 9:28.49, while American Angelina Ellis of Under Armour Dark Sky was fourth in 9:30.71. 

Simone Ponte Ferraz, of Atsugi Milers' Club, was fifth in 9:31.59 while California Baptist's Greta Karinauskaite was sixth in 9:37.31.

Related Links:

Women's 3000 Steeplechase Invite Results

  1. Lexy Halladay-Lowry, Unattached, 9:26.55
  2. Gracie Hyde, Adams State, 9:28.17
  3. Elise Thorner, Florida, 9:28.49
  4. Angelina Ellis, Under Armour Dark Sky Distance, 9:30.71
  5. Simone Ponte Ferraz, Atsugi Milers' Club, 9:31.59
  6. Greta Karinauskaite, CBU, 9:37.31
  7. Katelyn Stewart-Barnett, Unattached, 9:48.22
  8. Kiana Gibson, British Columbia, 9:51.28
  9. Taylor Lovell, BYU, 9:51.57
  10. Emma Tavella, Boston College, 9:53.51
  11. Colett Rampf Cribbs, Army, 9:56.85
  12. Zoie Dundon, Minnesota, 9:57.44
  13. Judi Jones, Unattached, 9:58.23
  14. Lona Latema, Kansas, 9:58.52
  15. Katie Clute, Oregon, 9:59.06
  16. Rachel Anderson, Southern Illinois, 10:00.70
  17. Jenna Melanson, Vancouver Thunderbirds, 10:00.79
  18. Karrie Baloga, Northern Arizona, 10:02.53
  19. Calli Doan, Liberty, 10:03.90
  20. Caroline Jerotich, Washington St., 10:08.53

How To Watch The Bryan Clay Invitational 2024

The Bryan Clay Invitational is streaming on FloTrack and the FloSports app. Meet replays, highlights and breaking news will be on both platforms. 

Don't Miss NCAA Track And Field Coverage On FloTrack

FloTrack has in-depth track and field broadcast schedule all summer long and that includes college track. Check out the broadcast schedule for more coverage.

Join The Track And Field Conversation On FloTrack Social