Champion Dani Jones Leads Colorado To NCAA XC Team Title


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

MADISON, WI. — You couldn't write a better story for Colorado senior Dani Jones, who captured her first individual cross country national title while leading the Buffs to their first team championship in 14 years.

"My goal was to just give myself a chance and stay in there and it worked out well," the Arizona native said between tears immediately after the race. "I never thought I'd win a cross title. It's just unbelievable and so special."

Jones kicked past New Mexico's Weini Kelati, pundits' favorite for the title, in the final straightaway at the University of Wisconsin and would end up distancing the sophomore by three seconds—19:42.8 to 19:45.3. 

The Buffs, conversely, led the team race with 2K to go with a 60-point lead over two-time defending champions New Mexico, 80 to 140 points.

They would actually improve on that score in the final tally with a total of 64 points for the win. The Lobos would settle for second with 103 points, Oregon took third with 160 points and Michigan took the final podium spot with 212 points. 

This is the third team title for Colorado, who previously won in 2004 and 2000. The first title also came with an individual champion in Kara Goucher (neé Grgas-Wheeler).

Colorado's No. 2 runner, Makena Morley, said she fell at 1K and worked her way back up to eighth place for an All-American finish. 

"I got stepped on," she said, "I kicked at the end because I saw my teammate winning. I never kick!"

The Lobos were huge favorites to defend their team title thanks to the strength of their top three women in Kelati, defending champion Ednah Kurgat and Charlotte Prouse, all of whom placed in the top nine on Saturday morning. But the Buffs were able to distance them by placing all five scorers in the top 24: Jones (1), Morley (8), Tabor Scholl (15), Sage Hurta (22) and Taylor Tuttle (24).

Jones won her title by staying patient through the 6K race and moving to the front only when her signature kick would benefit her. Boise State's Allie Ostrander and Notre Dame's Anna Rohrer led the early miles (6:38 at 2K, 13:27 at 4K), with Kelati and Kurgat in tow, along with Jones and the rest of the lead pack—Jessica Hull of Oregon, Alicia Monson of Wisconsin, Erica Birk-Jarvis of BYU and Elise Cranny of Stanford.

Kelati made her move with 2K to go and looked to have the race locked up before Jones unleashed her final kick.

Hull, who was just 93rd at this meet last year but won the NCAA 1500m title in the spring, placed third in 19:50.4 and Monson, just 139th one year ago, was fourth in 19:55.2.

Kurgat, the defending champion, would finish fifth in 19:55.8.

WATCH LIVE: 2019 Foot Locker Nationals

Watch the 2019 Foot Locker National XC Championships.

How Foot Locker All-Americans Fare In The NCAA

The top 15 finishers in Saturday’s Foot Locker National Cross Country Championships will have the title of high school “All-American” bestowed upon them. Despite Nike Cross Nationals' growth weakening the San Diego race in recent years, Foot Locker All-Americans still represent the elite of the elite high school prospects. Every NCAA coach in the country wants a runner who thrives at the most prestigious prep cross country race in the world.

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

The Road Trip That Brought Vaporflys To A Cross Country Meet

The phone rang before Luc Larson even had a chance to turn on the lights. Larson, the general manager of the Heartbreak Hill Running Company store in Chicago, has a rule against answering calls before the store is open. But a few minutes before 11 A.M. on November 14th, he picked up. 

Who Draws The Best Runners? Foot Locker or NXN?

The Foot Locker National XC Championships have been around since 1979 (41 years) whereas the Nike Cross Nationals have only been around since 2004 (16 years). With two high school national cross country championships, the question remains which championship is more prestigious? Foot Locker has the legacy factor, however NXN has been able to draw not just the top teams in the nation, but top individuals on both the girls and boys side in recent years.

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Debuting LIVE At 7PM CT: 'NAU: Running With The Boys,' Ep. 2



Hundreds Of Nike Employees Protest Against Alberto Salazar

Hundreds of Nike employees on Monday demonstrated on the company’s campus in Beaverton, Oregon, against a rededication of the Alberto Salazar Building, according to a report by Willamette Week.

Athing Mu Commits To Texas A&M

Article courtesy of MileSplit. Check out their full recruiting coverage.

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

How NCAA Athletes Fared At The 2019 European XC Championships

The NCAA was well-represented on Sunday at the 2019 SPAR European Cross Country Championships in Lisbon, Portugal. Here is where every U.S.-based collegiate athlete finished in their respective races:

WADA Bans Russia For Four Years

The World Anti-Doping Agency announced on Monday that Russia has been banned from international sport for four years, including the 2020 Olympics and 2022 World Cup.

Edward Cheserek Three-Peats At Kalakaua Merrie Mile

(c) 2019 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved