Fun Stats From The 2018 European XC Championships

Courtesy of Ken Nakamura, here are some fun stats from the 2018 European XC Championships in Tilburg, Netherlands.



- For the second time in the history of Euro Cross, runners from the same nation (in this case, Norway) won both the senior and junior races in the same year. Previously, Ukraine won both races in 2001.

- Filip Ingebrigtsen won the first individual gold for Norway in the Euro Cross senior men's race.

- Isaac Kimeli became the sixth runner to win medals in both the Euro Cross senior race (silver in 2018) and the Euro Cross U23 race (gold in 2016).

- The team score of 14 by Turkey tied the lowest score ever recorded in the men's senior race at Euro Cross; previously, Spain also scored 14 in 2015.


- For the second-consecutive year, France won both the individual and team race at Euro Cross U23.

- For the second Euro Cross U23 race in a row, Jimmy Gressier and Hugo Hay won medals for France. Last year, Gressier won gold while Hay won silver; this year, Gressier won gold while Hay won bronze.

- Gressier's winning margin of 8 seconds is the second-largest winning margin in Euro Cross U23 race history. The largest winning margin in the U23 race's history is 10 seconds by Henrik Ingebrigtsen in 2012.

- France's 11 points is the second-lowest winning team score for Euro Cross U23; France scored seven points last year, which is the lowest-ever for Euro Cross U23.

- Gressier became the first to successfully defend a Euro Cross U23 title and France won its second-consecutive team title in the Euro Cross U23 team race.


- Jakob Ingebrigtsen became the first to win the U20 Euro Cross title three times. Three athletes have won the event twice: Yemaneberhan Crippa of Italy (2014, 2015); Yevgeniy Rybakov of Russia (2002, 2003); and Barnabas Bene of Hungary (2004, 2005).



- The Netherlands won its first-ever team gold (also its first-ever team medal) in the Euro Cross senior women's race.

- Yasmein Can of Turkey has now won the Euro Cross senior women's race for the third-consecutive year. Three other athletes have won twice: Fionnuala Britton of Ireland (2011, 2012); Paula Radcliffe of Great Britain (1998, 2003); and Hayley Yelling of Great Britain (2004, 2009).


- Anna Emilie Moller won Denmark's first individual medal in the Euro Cross U23 women's race.

- Germany won its first team gold, while Spain won its first team medal in the Euro Cross U23 women's race.


- Nadia Battocletti is the first Italian to win individual gold in the Euro Champ U20 race.

- The Netherlands won its first team silver in the Euro Champ U20 race.

Virginia Tech All-Americans, Drew Piazza & Neil Gourley Join OTC

This weekend Mark Rowland's Oregon Track Club will debut two new athletes, former Virginia Tech All-Americans Drew Piazza and Neil Gourley. Both Piazza and Gourley are entered to race the mile under the affiliation 'Nike OTC' at the UW Invitational this weekend LIVE on FloTrack!

FloSports Announces Partnership With MEAC

AUSTIN, Texas -- January 17, 2019 -- Today, FloSports, the innovator in live digital sports and original content, announced a multiyear partnership with the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) to provide exclusive live and on-demand coverage of nearly 50 events on,,, and