2023 NCAA DI XC Championships

Every NCAA D1 Cross Country Championship Men's Team Since 1938

Every NCAA D1 Cross Country Championship Men's Team Since 1938

Here's a list of the all-time Men's NCAA Division I Cross Country Championship team winners.

Nov 15, 2023 by Joe Harrington
Every NCAA D1 Cross Country Championship Men's Team Since 1938

Northern Arizona Men’s Cross Country will attempt to win its seventh NCAA Division I Cross Country Championship since 2016 in 2023 as the Lumberjacks have become a cross country power over the last decade. 

A championship win for the Lumberjacks would be the first four-peat since Arkansas did it from 1990-1993. The Razorbacks have won a total of 11 national championships, but none since 2000. 

The 2023 Men’s Division I Cross Country Championships are Nov. 18 in Charlottesville, Virginia at Panorama Farms. 

Here’s a look at all the team champions since 1938. 

All-Time Men's NCAA Division XC Championship Teams


2022Northern ArizonaMichael Smith83 (3)Oklahoma State83 (2)Stillwater, Okla.
2021Northern ArizonaMichael Smith92Iowa State137Tallahassee, Fla.
2020Northern ArizonaMichael Smith60Notre Dame87Stillwater, Okla.
2019BYUEd Eyestone109Northern Arizona163Terre Haute, Ind.
2018Northern ArizonaMichael Smith83BYU116Madison, Wisc.
2017Northern ArizonaMichael Smith74Portland127Louisville, Ky.
2016Northern ArizonaEric Heins125Stanford158Terre Haute, Ind.
2015SyracuseChris Fox82Stanford91Louisville, Ky.
2014ColoradoMark Wetmore65Stanford98Terre Haute, Ind.
2013ColoradoMark Wetmore149Northern Arizona169Indiana State
2012Oklahoma StateDave Smith72Wisconsin135Louisville, Ky.
2011WisconsinMick Byrne97Oklahoma State139Indiana State
2010Oklahoma StateDave Smith73Florida State193Indiana State
2009Oklahoma StateDave Smith127Oregon143Indiana State
2008OregonVin Lananna93Iona147Indiana State
2007OregonVin Lananna85Iona113Indiana State
2006ColoradoMark Wetmore94Wisconsin142Indiana State
2005WisconsinJerry Schumacher37Arkansas105Indiana State
2004ColoradoMark Wetmore90Wisconsin94Indiana State
2003StanfordAndrew Gerard24Wisconsin174UNI
2002StanfordVin Lananna47Wisconsin107Indiana State
2001ColoradoMark Wetmore90Stanford91Furman
2000ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell83Colorado94Iowa State
1999ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell58Wisconsin185Indiana
1998ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell97Stanford114Kansas
1997StanfordVin Lananna53Arkansas56Furman
1996StanfordVin Lananna46Arkansas74Arizona
1995ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell100Northern Arizona142Iowa State
1994Iowa StateBill Bergan65Colorado88Arkansas
1993ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell31BYU153Lehigh
1992ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell46Wisconsin87Indiana
1991ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell52Iowa State114Arizona
1990ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell68Iowa State96Tennessee
1989Iowa StateBill Bergan54Oregon72Navy
1988WisconsinMartin Smith105Northern Arizona160Iowa State
1987ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell87Dartmouth119Virginia
1986ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell69Dartmouth141Arizona
1985WisconsinMartin Smith67Arkansas104Marquette
1984ArkansasJohn Mcdonnell101Arizona111Penn State
1983*UTEPLarry Heiderbrecht108Wisconsin164Lehigh
1982WisconsinDan McClimon59Providence138Indiana
1981UTEPTed Banks17Providence109Wichita State
1980UTEPTed Banks58Arkansas152Wichita State
1979UTEPTed Banks86Oregon93Lehigh
1978UTEPTed Banks56Oregon72Wisconsin
1977OregonBill Dellinger100UTEP105Washington state
1976UTEPTed Banks62Oregon117North Texas
1975UTEPTed Banks88Washington State92Penn State
1974OregonBill Dellinger77Western Kentucky110Indiana
1973OregonBill Dellinger89UTEP157Washington state
1972TennesseeStan Huntsman134East Tennessee State148Houston
1971OregonBill Dellinger83Washington State122Tennessee
1970VillanovaJames Elliott85Oregon86William & Mary
1969UTEPWayne Vandenburg74Villanova88Manhattan
1968VillanovaJames Elliott78Stanford100Manhattan
1967VillanovaJames Elliott91Air Force96Wyoming
1966VillanovaJames Elliott79Kansas State155Kansas
1965Western MichiganGeorge Dales81Northwestern114Kansas
1964Western MichiganGeorge Dales86Oregon116Michigan State
1963San Jose StateDean Miller53Oregon68Michigan State
1962San Jose StateDean Miller58Villanova69Michigan State
1961Oregon StateSam Bell68San Jose State82Michigan State
1960HoustonJohn Morriss54Michigan State80Michigan State
1959Michigan StateFrancis Dittrich44Houston120Michigan State
1958Michigan StateFrancis Dittrich79Western Michigan104Michigan State
1957Notre dameAlex Wilson121Michigan State127Michigan State
1956Michigan StateKarl Schlademan28Kansas88Michigan State
1955Michigan StateKarl Schlademan46Kansas68Michigan State
1954Oklahoma StateRalph Higgins61Syracuse118Michigan State
1953KansasBill Easton70Indiana82Michigan State
1952Michigan StateKarl Schlademan65Indiana68Michigan State
1951SyracuseRobert Grieve80Kansas118Michigan State
1950Penn StateCharles Werner53Michigan State55Michigan State
1949Michigan StateKarl Schlademan59Syracuse81Michigan State
1948Michigan StateKarl Schlademan41Wisconsin69Michigan State
1947Penn StateCharles Werner60Syracuse72Michigan State
1946DrakeBill Easton42New York University98Michigan State
1945DrakeBill Easton50Notre Dame65Michigan State
1944DrakeBill Easton25Notre Dame64Michigan State
1942Indiana/Penn StateEarle Hayes/Charles Werner57

Michigan State
1941Rhode IslandFred Tootell83Penn State110Michigan State
1940IndianaEarle Hayes65Eastern Michigan68Michigan State
1939Michigan StateLauren Brown54Wisconsin57Michigan State
1938IndianaEarle Hayes51Notre Dame61Michigan State

When Is The NCAA D1 Cross Country Championships 2023; NCAA XC Championship Schedule

The Cross Country Championships are at 10: 20 a.m. (women’s 600m) and 11:10 a.m. (men’s 10000m) on Nov. 18. 

Where Are The NCAA D1 Cross Country Championships 2023

The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Division I National Championships are at Panorama Farms in Charlottesville, Virginia. 

Here are where all divisions are being held: 

  • Division I: Panorama Farms in Charlottesville, Virginia. 
  • Division II: Tom Rutledge Cross Country Course, Joplin, Missouri 
  • Division III: Big Spring High School, Carlisle, Pennsylvania

How To Watch The NCAA D1 Cross Country Championships 2023

The event for Division I is streaming on ESPNU. Division II and III are streaming on NCAA.com. 

NCAA XC Championships 2022 Results Will Be On FloTrack

FloTrack will have the latest results and breaking news from Virginia on Nov. 18. 

FloTrack Is Streaming Cross Country High School State Meets All November

November is also the month of high school cross country championship meets. Check the FloTrack schedule for a list of all the state championships streaming on FloTrack

Join the Cross Country Conversation on Social